Fitting the Pieces Together…

Posted: February 24, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

     The course that I am about to complete has introduced me to a broad continuum of learning theories and learning styles.  Prior to taking this class, my understanding of learning theories was limited and was not aware of how they interconnect and overlap to a large degree, none of them being distinct, finite constructs. Even when I looked to individual theorists, such as Piaget and Vygotsky, I was hard-pressed to find a way to put each of them in a box of their own.  They are just not mutually exclusive.  Concepts of behaviorism bleed over into cognitivism, which bleeds into constructivism, which bleeds into social learning theory, which bleeds into connectivism, which bleeds into adult learning theory all in a rather linear fashion, but with non-linear connections, as well.  For example, there are elements of behaviorism present in all of the learning theories!  Similarly, while there are a number of learning styles that learners utilize and even identify with it is apparent that most individuals apply different learning styles according to the nature of the material to be learned, or the task at hand. 

     At the beginning of the course we were asked to discuss the methods by which we learned most productively.  In my response to this question I stated that, “I have always found it difficult to determine what my primary mode of learning was because it seemed to vary depending on what I was attempting to learn.” When I made that statement I was worried that it might be a “wrong” answer on some level, but I see now why I found that to be case.  And I like to think that while based on my year of birth I am technically one of Marc Prensky’s Digital Immigrants, that my early and continued exposure combined with conscious effort may allow me to become a crossover Digital Native! And I have to say that I am rather excited about the fact that I can actively work on Gardner’s Multiple Intelligences to improve those that are not strengths of mine. 

   Presently, I find that connectivism goes a long way to explain how I learn these days, with Google, YouTube, facebook, blogs, Twitter, listservs, Skype and other online resources that I can access with my computer, laptop, iPad, and smartphone at will. Colleagues and friends are constantly amazed at how quickly I locate information. I am looking forward to blogging more and continuing to learn how to use technology in my future courses for the purposes of creativity and organization.

References:

Ertmer, P. A., & Newby, T. J. (1993). Behaviorism, cognitivism, constructivism: Comparing critical features from an instructional design perspective. Performance Improvement Quarterly, 6(4),50-71.

 

Laureate Education, Inc. (Producer). (2009). An introduction to learning [DVD]. Baltimore, MD: Dr. Ormrod.

Timeline of the History of Learning. (n.d.). [Flash media]. Retrieved from http://mym.cdn.laureate-media.com/Walden/EDUC/6115/01/mm/tec_timeline.html

What are your thoughts?

